ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Art Criticism

Body

With the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Art Criticism, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) honors the work of freelance art critics, who, in the press as well as other media channels, scrutinize contemporary art and its social context. It seeks to give recognition to the decisive contribution art critics make to the public reception of contemporary art.

Multi-Content
Spalte 1

Kito Nedo receives the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Art Criticism 2017

Award for a critic with a sense for independent institutions and peripheral phenomena

Berlin/Cologne, April 6th, 2017 The critic Kito Nedo will be awarded with the Award for Art Criticism 2017. The 3,000 euro prize is given out by the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) in cooperation with ART COLOGNE and is aimed at freelance journalists.

According to the jury Kito Nedo is a critic who, through his work, has preserved special attention for every area of the art scene that hasn’t been glamorously presented in the spotlight. This allows him to look behind the scenes of both small and large institutions and strive for observatory distance and the balance of varied perspectives. Kito Nedo succeeds at strengthening journalistic independence, which in contemporary criticism, is too often lacking.

The jury further explained their decision as such: “Nedo is a critic who has not seen his place as merely that part of the art world where power and meaning silently conspire. Often he turns to classic journalistic formats in order to benefit from his encyclopedic knowledge and too seldom heeded exhibition venues for his reports, analysis and interviews. He thereby circumvents the hypnotic fixation on big events and stars in order to capture critical voices. He champions a form of composed sedate observation that consciously abstains from declarative and worshiping prose. Criticism is for Kito Nedo always a shift of attention and thus an approach to fairness with regard to individual positions and marginal phenomenon.”

The Prize has been awarded through ADKV since 1999 and in cooperation with ART COLOGNE since 2006, which also donates the prize money. The award honors the dedication of freelance art critics who, through art and daily press or other media, grapple with contemporary art and its social context.

The members of the 2017 jury were: Marius Babias (critic, curator and director of n.b.k. Berlin); Astrid Mania (fine arts scholar and freelance critic, including for the Süddeutsche Zeitung); Jörg Scheller (fine arts scholar and freelance critic, prizewinner of the Award for Art Criticism 2016); Tobias Timm (journalist, arts and culture editor at DIE ZEIT) and Gerrit Gohlke as representative of ADKV (without a vote).

Previous prizewinners: Jörg Scheller (2016); Stefan Kobel (2015); Barbara Buchmaier and Christine Woditschka (2014); Astrid Mania (2013); Kolja Reichert (2012); Jens Kastner (2011); Jennifer Allen (2009); Rudolf Schmitz (2008); Ludwig Seyfarth (2007); Catrin Lorch (2006); Dominic Eichler (2005); Gregory Williams (2004); Raimar Stange (2003); Renate Puvogel (2002); Jan Verwoert (2001); Stefan Römer (2000); Hans-Christian Dany (1999).

The prize will be awarded together with the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Kunstvereine at 15:00 on Friday, April 28th, 2017 in the TALK LOUNGE in Hall 11.3 of ART COLOGNE.

Bildergalerie in rechter Spalte
Einzelnes Bild
Caption
ART COLOGNE-Diektor Daniel Hug und ADKV-Vorstandsmitglied Gerrit Gohlke verleihen den ADKV-ART COLOGNE-Preis für Kunstkritik 2017 an Kito Nedo
Credits
Foto: Art Cologne

ADKV-ART COLOGNE Preis für Kunstkritik

Body

Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) würdigt mit der Auslobung des ADKV-ART COLOGNE Preises für Kunstkritik das Engagement freier KunstkritikerInnen, die sich in der Fach- und Tagespresse oder in anderen Medien mit zeitgenössischer Kunst und ihrem sozialen Kontext auseinandersetzen und hebt den bedeutenden Anteil der Kritik an der Vermittlung anspruchsvoller Kunst hervor.

Multi-Content
Spalte 1

Kito Nedo erhält den ADKV-ART COLOGNE-Preis für Kunstkritik 2017

Auszeichnung für einen Kritiker mit Sinn für unabhängige Institutionen und Randphänomene

Der Kritiker Kito Nedo wird mit dem Preis für Kunstkritik 2017 ausgezeichnet. Der mit 3.000 Euro dotierte Preis wird von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) in Kooperation mit der ART COLOGNE verliehen und richtet sich an freie Journalistinnen und Journalisten.

Mit Kito Nedo zeichnet die Jury einen Kritiker aus, der sich in seiner Arbeit besondere Aufmerksamkeit auch für jene Bereiche des Kunstbetriebs bewahrt hat, die nicht im Scheinwerferlicht glamouröser Inszenierungen stehen. Dabei blickt er hinter die Kulissen kleiner wie großer Institutionen und bemüht sich um beobachtende Distanz ebenso wie um einen Ausgleich verschiedenartiger Perspektiven. Kito Nedo stärkt damit eine journalistische Unabhängigkeit, die der gegenwärtigen Kritik allzu oft fehlt.

Weiter heißt es in der Begründung der Jury: „Nedo ist ein Kritiker, der seinen Platz noch nie allein dort gesehen hat, wo der Kunstbetrieb stillschweigend Macht und Bedeutung konzentriert. Oft greift er zu klassischen journalistischen Formaten, um in Berichten, Analysen und Interviews von seiner enzyklopädischen Kenntnis auch selten beachteter Ausstellungsorte zu profitieren. So unterläuft er die hypnotische Fixierung auf Groß-Events und Stars, um auch kritische Stimmen einzufangen. Er verteidigt einen Ton gelassen ruhiger Beobachtung, der sich von Verlautbarungs- und Huldigungsprosa fernzuhalten weiß. Kritik ist für Kito Nedo immer auch Umverteilung von Aufmerksamkeit und damit ein Beitrag zur Fairness gegenüber Einzelpositionen und Randphänomenen.“

Seit 1999 wird der Preis durch die ADKV ausgelobt und seit 2006 in Kooperation mit der ART COLOGNE, die auch das Preisgeld stiftet, vergeben. Die Auszeichnung würdigt das Engagement freier Kunstkritikerinnen und -kritiker, die sich in der Fach- und Tagespresse oder in anderen Medien mit zeitgenössischer Kunst und ihrem sozialen Kontext auseinandersetzen.

Die Mitglieder der Jury 2017 waren: Marius Babias (Kritiker, Kurator und Direktor des n.b.k. Berlin); Astrid Mania (Kunstwissenschaftlerin und freie Kritikerin, u.a. für die Süddeutsche Zeitung); Jörg Scheller (Kunstwissenschaftler und freier Kritiker, Preisträger Preis für Kunstkritik 2016); Tobias Timm (Journalist, Redakteur im Feuilleton von DIE ZEIT) sowie Gerrit Gohlke als Vertreter der ADKV (ohne Stimmrecht).

Bisherige Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger: Jörg Scheller (2016); Stefan Kobel (2015); Barbara Buchmaier und Christine Woditschka (2014); Astrid Mania (2013); Kolja Reichert (2012); Jens Kastner (2011); Jennifer Allen (2009); Rudolf Schmitz (2008); Ludwig Seyfarth (2007); Catrin Lorch (2006); Dominic Eichler (2005); Gregory Williams (2004); Raimar Stange (2003); Renate Puvogel (2002); Jan Verwoert (2001); Stefan Römer (2000); Hans-Christian Dany (1999).

Der Preis wird zusammen mit dem ADKV-ART COLOGNE Preis für Kunstvereine am Freitag, 28. April 2017 um 15 Uhr in der TALK LOUNGE in Halle 11.3 der ART COLOGNE verliehen.

Bildergalerie in rechter Spalte
Einzelnes Bild
Caption
Kito Nedo
Credits
Foto: Stefan Studer