ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Art Criticism


With the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Art Criticism, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) honors the work of freelance art critics, who, in the press as well as other media channels, scrutinize contemporary art and its social context. It seeks to give recognition to the decisive contribution art critics make to the public reception of contemporary art.

Spalte 1

Open call for entries for the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Prize for Art Criticism 2024

The Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) invites independent critics in the field of contemporary visual arts to participate in an open call for entries for the ADKV-ART COLOGNE Prize for Art Criticism 2023. The prize is endowed with 5,000 €.

By awarding the prize, the ADKV recognizes the commitment of independent art critics who deal with contemporary art and its social context in the specialist and daily press or in other media and emphasizes the important role of criticism in the mediation of sophisticated art. Art associations in particular, with their focus on the production of contemporary art, are dependent on cultural journalism that develops and describes independent quality criteria and innovative text forms. The ADKV-ART COLOGNE Prize for Art Criticism has developed into an award that is recognized throughout the German-speaking world. The ADKV has been awarding the prize since 1999, since 2006 in cooperation with ART COLOGNE.

Application: by e-mail to kunstkritik [at]
Closing date for entries: July 22, 2024

Please submit the following documents in a PDF document of max. 10 MB:

  • Four published work samples from the last three years, including:
  • two shorter art criticism texts* up to 6,000 characters in length
  • one longer art-critical text* up to 12,000 characters in length
  • a longer monographic text about an artist or an art-critical essay

*All genres of art criticism are possible, e.g. exhibition review, column, commentary, feature, etc.

The keystrokes are counted with spaces. All texts must have been published in a print medium or a national online medium. Please also enclose

  • a list of the submitted texts with details of publication (when/where)
  • max. 1 A4 page biography
  • max. 1 A4 page bibliography (selection)

The prize is aimed at freelance authors who publish in German and can provide evidence of regular publications in German. However, half of the submitted texts may also be written and published in English. Translations must be marked.

Once all documents have been received, a jury will select the winner in September 2024 based on the submissions. The award ceremony will take place during ART COLOGNE (November 7-10, 2024).

Press contact: Nadja Klier, klier [at]